Skip to content

List of British Prime Ministers since the post began

Eighteenth Century

1721 to 1742: Sir Robert Walpole (Whig)
1742: Spencer Compton, Earl of Wilmington (Whig)
1743 to 1754: Henry Pelham (Whig)
1754 to 1756: Thomas Pelham-Holles, Duke of Newcastle (Whig)
1756 to 1760: William Cavendish, Duke of Devonshire (Whig)
1760 to 1762: Thomas Pelham-Holles, Duke of Newcastle (Whig)
1762: John Stuart, Earl of Bute (Tory)
1763 to 1765: George Grenville (Whig)
1765: Charles Watson-Wentworth, Marquess of Rockingham (Whig)
1766 to 1768: William Pitt the Elder, Earl of Chatham (Whig)
1768 to 1770: Augustus Fitzroy, Duke of Grafton (Whig)
1770 to 1782: Frederick North, Lord North (Tory)
1782: William FitzMaurice, Earl of Shelburne (Whig) Charles Watson-Wentworth, Marquess of Rockingham (Whig)
1783: William Bentinck, Duke of Portland (Tory). William Pitt, the Younger (Tory)

Nineteenth Century

1801 to 1802: Henry Addington (Tory)
1804 to 1806: William Pitt, the Younger (Tory)
1806: William Grenville, Lord Grenville (Whig)
1807 to 1809: William Bentinck, Duke of Portland (Tory)
1809 to 1812: Spencer Perceval (Tory)
1812: Robert Jenkinson, Earl of Liverpool (Tory)
1813 to 1827: Robert Jenkinson, Earl of Liverpool (Tory)
1827: Frederick Robinson, Viscount Goderich (Tory) 
George Canning (Tory)
1828 to 1830: Arthur Wellesley, Duke of Wellington (Tory)
1830 to 1834: Charles Grey, Earl Grey (Whig)
1834: Sir Robert Peel (Tory) 
Arthur Wellesley, Duke of Wellington (Tory)
1835 to 1841: William Lamb, Viscount Melbourne (Whig)
1841 to 1846: Sir Robert Peel (Tory)
1846 to 1852: Lord John Russell (Whig)
1852 to 1855: Edward Stanley, Earl of Derby (Conservative Party)
 George Hamilton-Gordon, Earl of Aberdeen (Conservative Party)
1855 to 1858: Viscount Palmerston (Liberal Party)
1858 to 1865: Viscount Palmerston (Liberal Party) 
Edward Stanley, Earl of Derby (Conservative Party)
1865: John Russell, Earl Russell (Liberal Party)
1866 to 1868: Edward Stanley, Earl of Derby (Conservative Party)
1868 to 1874: Benjamin Disraeli (Conservative Party)
 William Ewart Gladstone (Liberal Party)
1874 to 1880: Benjamin Disraeli (Conservative Party)
1880 to 1885: William Ewart Gladstone (Liberal Party)
1885 to 1886: Marquess of Salisbury (Conservative Party)
1886 to 1892: William Ewart Gladstone (Liberal Party)
 Marquess of Salisbury (Conservative Party)
1892 to 1894: William Ewart Gladstone (Liberal Party)
1894: Earl of Rosebery (Liberal Party)
1895 to 1902: Marquess of Salisbury (Conservative Party)

Twentieth Century

1902 to 1905: Arthur Balfour (Conservative Party)
1905 to 1908: Henry Campbell-Bannerman (Liberal Party)
1908 to 1916: Herbert H. Asquith (Liberal Party Coalition Government)
1916 to 1922: David Lloyd George (Liberal Party Coalition Government)
1922: Andrew Bonar Law (Conservative Party)
1923 to 1929: Stanley Baldwin (Conservative Party)
1929 to 1935: James Ramsay MacDonald (Labour Party)
1935 to 1937: Stanley Baldwin (Conservative Party National Government)
1937 to 1940: Neville Chamberlain (Conservative Party National Government)
1940 to 1945: Winston Churchill (Conservative Coalition Government)
1945 to 1951: Clement Attlee (Labour Party)
1951 to 1955: Winston Churchill (Conservative Party)
1955 to 1957: Sir Anthony Eden (Conservative Party)
1957 to 1963: Harold Macmillan (Conservative Party)
1963: Sir Alec Douglas-Home (Conservative Party)
1964 to 1970: Harold Wilson (Labour Party)
1970 to 1974: Edward Heath (Conservative Party)
1974 to 1976: Harold Wilson (Labour Party)
1976 to 1979: James Callaghan (Labour Party)
1979 to 1990: Margaret Thatcher (Conservative Party)
1990 to 1997: John Major (Conservative Party)
1997 to 2007: Tony Blair (Labour Party)

Twenty-First Century

2007 to 2010: Gordon Brown (Labour Party)
2010 to 2015: David Cameron (Conservative/Liberal Coalition)
2015 to 2016: David Cameron (Conservative Party)
2016 to 2019: Theresa May (Conservative Party)
2019 to 2022: Boris Johnson (Conservative Party)
2022: Liz Truss (Conservative Party)

This website does not collect any personal data. Cookies are merely used to track which pages are most popular. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.